I went in for this appointment with good vibes because I figured since no one called me to tell me I failed my glucose test that everything was fine. Not so...I get there to sign in and the receptionist hands me a requistion for more lab work and when I ask what's this for, she tells me I have to have a 2 hour test and that the dr would explain the rest. Ok.. I'll do another glucose test, maybe this time I can convince the girls in the lab to give me an extra one for the road.

So I get into my appointment and she asked how I feel and I tell her I'm good, cold and sniffly but good. She goes over my urine and bloodwork and tells me that it's one of the most colorful reports she has gotten back in a while  Apparently my urine showed the beginning signs of a UTI so guess what? I get to take 7 pills of Macrobid ...YAY! She says my bloodwork had some abnormalities that she wanted to look into more, but she wouldn't tell me what they were, so along with the glucose test I get to have additional bloodwork done....double YAY!

Then she asks me if I have any questions, concerns, or comments for her...well ummm yeah just a few. I told her I fell last week and that I monitored myself and the baby was kicking as usual, no cramping or spotting. She told me that I should have come up as a precaution but since I didn't and I obviously knew what the warning signs were, she is happy I am ok. I told her about my rib pain last week and I told her it happened a week or so before that. I told her I thought it was baby's feet meeting my ribs... Not so again. I have to have my liver and kidneys checked (more additional bloodwork...YAY!) She told me that there are 4 reasons that I could be experiencing this kinda of pain... it starts on the right side at the bottom ribs and goes around the back to the front.

The reasons are:
1) it is baby's feet and she is a strong kicker. (but this is unlikely since the pain extends around my back and to the left side)
2) I have kidney/gallballader issues (I think that is what she said)
3) I have a liver issue
4) it's early signs of Pre-E.

She did a full check over on me after I told her about the pains and she told me that if I noticed any swelling to get my butt up to L&D immediately. My blood pressure was a normal-high...she said it was normal but on the high side of normal. My belly is measuring right on track and I am now up to 161lbs, so I am up 21.3lbs from my pre-preggo weight.

I was told that it would be in my best interest to sign up for my birth tour of the hospital in the next few days instead of when I am 36 weeks because she doesn't think this babe is gonna last that long. She said if my bloodwork came back and her hunches are right, I could have her before April is over or in early May. As much as I am freaked  about it, I am also happy.

So overall, I am not sure if you could call this a good appointment or a bad one. I got to hear the heartbeat and I got a video of it since DF is sicker then a dog and couldn't go... but he better get well enough to go with me on the 21st.... yep.. no more once a month appointments... I get to go in 2 weeks because of my bloodwork and then from there it could remain at every 2 weeks or every week...oh joy oh joy.




Leave a Reply.

    Alisa Dupuis

    Hello, welcome to my blog.. enjoy my ramblings and whatnot... I promise I am not as crazy as I may sound sometimes...lol

    Archives

    April 2009

    Categories

    All